Ligatures or alternates?

Hello there,

I am currently working in a startup, and back in march, I’ve created a typography for them. Their request was a type where we can use 2 Q and 2 O, one normal, one with the logotype of the company (The On/off inverted to make a Q). I am a complete newbie in font making so I did it in an easy way, I put the normal Q on the Q, and the Logotype on a glyph that nobody needs here and easy to access on the keyboard (§).
Only now, we realized that when we write the special Q, people who doesn’t have the font installed, only sees §. Which is a bit problematic.

So I decided to take more time to think about the right solution. And I updated the font with alternatives glyphs. And it’s working awesome on adobe softwares. But, to use in microsoft softwares, or even Pages, it’s impossible to use the alternatives. Nothing works, and I’ve been trying to find a solution all the weekend. I don’t find any tutorial or explanation explaining how to create an opentype font that is working everywhere.

I also found information about Ligatures. Maybe it is a solution, to settle the Q logotype to appear only when we write the name of the company. But how to do this ? I only saw people speaking about ff, ffi etc, not an entier word of 8 letters…

If someone can help me to find the best way to do to make a clean type I will really appreciate it.

Ovie

I understand your frustration, but this is the reality with MS Office. I;m not sure what exactly is the support for discretional ligatures (this is what they’re called) - as opposed to standard ones (ff, fl, etc). Even if you create a DLIG OpenType feature in your font - which is really easy (just not sure how to do that in FontSelf) to replace N_A_M_E with a choice of graphic (really whatever you want).
But unless MS or Pages support discretional ligatures you’re out of luck.
Meanwhile - how to create Ligatures in Glyphs

https://glyphsapp.com/learn/ligatures